Home Forums General "Pace" satellite box

This topic contains 13 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  kate bush 1 week ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #486124

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    Our Pace satellite receiver box keeps giving us the message “not receiving satellite signal. Pull out plug, leave for 5 mins then plug in again”.  I assume the box is kaput.  Can we buy a Humax box in France or can we get one from the UK?

    0
    #486142

    Radon
    Participant
    • Topics: 11
    • Replies: 223
    • Contributions: 234
    • Scout
    • ★★★

    Member since
    19th April 2019

    More than likely it is the signal to the box from the LNB. By virtue of the LNB facing south it may be overheating in the sun. :unsure:

    0
    #486165

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    We have a dual LNB and run 2 tvs from it.  The one in the lounge is ok but the one in the bedroom is not.

    0
    #486178

    Pete James
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 6179
    • Contributions: 6236
    • Mega Star
    • ★★★★★★★★

    Member since
    22nd July 2016

    I have that message on the screen almost daily KB when I switch on for the first time. I keep the Pace running but change the input sockets. Basically I leave the achine ‘on’ and then unscrew the aerial and screw it into the other and the problem is resolved. My machine is only 18 months old.

    1+
    #486230

    tournesol
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 644
    • Contributions: 647
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    13th April 2016

    Definitely swap boxes to check out first, as it could well be the coax. I had a similar problem a while back, frustratingly, it’s the last thing I checked. :scratch:

    1+
    #486286

    Jean Matthews
    Participant
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 318
    • Contributions: 344
    • Chief
    • ★★★★

    Member since
    20th March 2016

    We keep getting that message as well Kate, had a new LNB a few weeks ago, message started appearing again in this very hot weather, got Barty coming on Wednesday to check it out.

    0
    #486312

    admin Wizard
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 98
    • Replies: 302
    • Contributions: 400
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    16th March 2016

    Check out our trusted partners: https://unitedinbrittany.com/trusted-partners/. This may help.

    0
    #486323

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    Thank you everyone for your very good advice.  Will be trying it out shortly.  :good:

    0
    #486758

    tournesol
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 644
    • Contributions: 647
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    13th April 2016

    Did you get it sorted?

    0
    #486786

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    We’re using a spare at the moment but OH will be checking the coax shortly (on a day when we haven’t got people coming/going to the chiropodist/shopping/making frames for the fly nets) as you suggested.

    0
    #486841

    tournesol
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 644
    • Contributions: 647
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    13th April 2016

    If the spare is working, then it probably is the box. Still worth checking everything once you have time though.

    0
    #486852

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    :good:

    0
    #486904

    BartyB
    Participant
    • Topics: 16
    • Replies: 617
    • Contributions: 633
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    20th March 2016

    The cable is really really unlikely to be causing an intermittent problem  especially in this weather (the only time it does is when the outside insulation breaks down and allows water in),, it’s cable. it either works or it doesn’t. If swapping boxes has sorted it I wouldn’t bother looking any further…….. What are you going to be looking for?

    Intermittent problems are almost impossible to fault find in any system because that Mr Sod and his law decrees that they won’t be present when your trying to find them.

    0
    #486910

    kate bush
    Participant
    • Topics: 56
    • Replies: 406
    • Contributions: 462
    • Guardian
    • ★★★★★

    Member since
    19th March 2016

    Thank you Barty.  The box I think is about 20 years old so it’s lasted well.

    0
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.